National Youth Camps

Camps offer children the chance to feel like they belong. Camps build confidence and help children feel in control of their lives.

Camps create long-lasting friendships. Every child deserves the chance to go to camp.


Due to an overwhelming response, all registration for the 2019 camp season is now closed.   Because of the generosity of our main supporters across Canada, more than 450 children from military families will be attending camp this summer. 

CONTACT US
camps@cfmws.com 

You may qualify for a grant for your child to go to camp for a week at an accredited camp :

  • Up to $700 for a week-long residential camp
  • ​Up to $400 for a week-long day camp
  • Up to $1,100 for a week-long residential or week-long day camp for a special needs child
Children are eligible for ONE WEEK of camp only; therefore combining multiple weeks of camp to obtain the maximum camp grant is prohibited. Unused portions of grants will continue to help send more children to camp throughout the summer.

 

Eligibility criteria

Supporting documents required during application process

Dependents of deceased Canadian Armed Forces members

No documentation required.

Dependents of ill or injured members of the Canadian Armed Forces being supported through the Joint Personnel Support Unit (JPSU)/Integrated Personnel Support Centre (IPSC)

Copy of posting message to JPSU/IPSC, or
Letter from Chain of Command, or
Copy of Member Personnel Record Resume (MPRR) indicating diagnosis of illness or injury.

Dependents of Canadian Armed Forces members who are currently deployed, on a prolonged course or training program, scheduled for deployment, or serving away from their families

Copy of deployment message, or
Copy of prolonged training course or tasking record, or
Letter from the Chain of Command supporting the deployment.

Special needs dependents and/or one sibling per special needs dependent of Canadian Armed Forces members

Diagnosis letter from a medical organization or representative.

Military families who do not fit the above eligibility may still be considered

Nominated by a superior within their Chain of Command.

 
The Canadian Armed Forces member must be the parent or legal guardian of the child.


 
 

Application Process:

  • Select an accredited camp in your province or territory
  • ​Complete the Support Our Troops National Summer Camp Grant Application Form
  • Applications will be reviewed by the Support Our Troops Camp Committee
If approved, you will receive an email confirmation within 10 business days, with the details of the grant.

Receiving the Grant:

After your child(ren) have returned from camp please send the following:
  • Camp invoice/receipt showing proof of payment
  • Proof of attendance, such as a descriptive testimonial along with photos or a letter from the camp.
  • The last day to submit paid invoices, and proof of attendance is 30 September 2019
​Payments will be processed as direct payments to your bank account and may take four six weeks.
​If you choose to register a child for camp prior to receiving a grant approval, you are responsible for the fee if your grant is not approved.
 
Children are eligible for ONE WEEK of camp only; therefore combining multiple weeks of camp to obtain the maximum camp grant is prohibited. Unused portions of grants will continue to help send more children to camp throughout the summer.
  • Grants are intended to help with the cost of camp fees only. Other use will be subjected to the Code of Service Discipline.

  • Reserve Force members must be on a current contract of 180 days or more; and

  • Grants are for one week only per child per summer.

  • Residential or day camps must be accredited by provincial camp associations.

  • Residential or day camps may include Personnel Support Program (PSP) or municipally run programs.

Accredited Camp Associations:

Canadian Camping Association http://www.ccamping.org/
BC Camping Association http://bccamping.org
Alberta Camping Association http://www.albertacamping.com
Saskatchewan Camps Association http://www.saskcamping.ca
Manitoba Camping Association http://www.mbcamping.ca
Ontario Camps Association http://www.ontariocampsassociation.ca
Association des camps du Québec http://camps.qc.ca/en/parents-et-enfants/accueil
New Brunswick Camping Association http://www.nbcamping.ca
Camping Association of Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island http://www.canspei.ca/
Newfoundland/Labrador Camping Association (709) 686-2363

Bereavement Camps:

British Columbia:

Camp Skylark http://www.frasercanyonhospice.org/camp-skylark.html
Camp Kerry BC https://campkerrysociety.org/camp-kerry/
Camp Chrysalis https://langleyhospice.com/programs/child-youth-bereavement/

Alberta:

Coloured Tears Summer Daycamps  https://www.briarpatchgrief.com/

Saskatchewan:

Caring Hearts Camp  http://www.caringheartssk.ca/caring-hearts-camp

Manitoba:

Camp Stepping Stones  http://www.ierha.ca/default.aspx?cid=6236&lang=1
Camp Bridges https://www.prairiemountainhealth.ca/index.php/camp-bridges

Ontario:

Camp Erin Eastern Ontario https://carefor.ca/services/?comaction=view&id=58
Camp Erin Toronto https://drjaychildrensgriefcentre.ca/event/camp-erin-auction/
Camp Erin Hamilton https://kemphospice.org/camp-keaton
Camp Kerry ON https://campkerrysociety.org/camp-kerry-ontario/
Camp Skein https://www.grievingchildren.com/all-events/camp-skein/

Nova Scotia:

Camp Kedoopse  https://brigadoonvillage.org/camp/kedooopse/

New Brunswick:

Camp Kerry Atlantic  https://campkerrysociety.org/camp-kerry-atlantic/

Québec:

Camp Erin Montréal  http://www.ymywha.com/camperin/

Popular Summer Camp Locations:

Camp Maple Leaf www.campmapleleaf.net
Camp Manitou (Manitoba) http://campmanitou.mb.ca/
PSP Summer Camps www.cafconnection.ca/National/Programs-Services/Recreation/PSP-Day-Camps.aspx
Muskoka Woods Camp www.muskokawoods.com
Camp Thunderbird YMCA https://vancouverislandy.com/program-services/outdoor-education-overview/summer-camp-overview/
Camp Kéno www.campkeno.com
Frontier Trails Summer Camp www.frontiertrailscamp.com
Camp Imadene www.imadene.com
Camp Trois-Saumons www.camps-odyssee.com/trois-saumons
Circle Square Ranch www.csranch.ca
Camp Summit www.campsummit.ca

Top